Create a system notification

Digication Notifications provides an easy solution for communicating important messages to your campus community. Notifications can be sent to all Digication users in your system, or specifically to large groups of users: students, faculty, or admin. They will appear in the Notifications inbox on each users dashboard menu, but will not be sent as emails. A full overview of Digication Notifications can be found here.

Accessing System Notifications

Administrators create system notifications in the Administration area. Select Administration in the global navigation menu (1).

Global navigation with Administration selected

Select Notifications in the Administration sidebar (2).

Notifications in the Administration sidebar

On the Notifications page, you will see a list of all previous system notifications. To create a notification, select New Notification (3).

Notifications page with the New Notification control

Creating a New Notification

To create a system notification, first enter a Title (1). This will appear as the first line of text in the notification. The Message field (2) is where you will enter the body text of the notification.

Create Notification window with a title and message entered

Using the link button (3), you can place a link in the body of your notification.

Insert link control in the message toolbar

After scrolling down to the Notification Settings, select which group of users should receive the notification (4).

Next, you can designate whether new users will receive the notification (5). Users created at any time will ensure that all existing and future users receive the notification. Otherwise, you can choose to send the notification to Users created before [current date and time] or Users created after [current date and time].

To make the notification starred as important upon arrival, select the checkbox for Show as starred by default (6). When finished, do not forget to click Send.

Notification settings: recipients, user created, starred, and Send

The Notification will arrive in the inbox of all users belonging to the selected user group, displaying the name of the admin who created it, the title, message, and any links included.

5sysnot.png