New Course Merging Tools on the Way!

Hello friends!

We're very excited to announce two great new features that are coming to courses in two weeks! The first new feature is the ability to import attendance data with student rosters and the other is the ability to unmerge courses.

Merging Attendance Data

To merge attendance rosters, you'll start by going into the course you'd like to merge everything into, clicking on the "Import & Merge" option, and then selecting the course you'd like to merge the attendance information with.

While there, you'll see that "Attendance" is now available. You'll have to make sure that both "Attendance" and "Yes, merge 'course name' enrollment into 'course name'" are checked off before clicking on the import button in order for the attendance data to be imported successfully.

A screen depicting the checkboxes where users must select both attendance and "merge student enrollment" to proceed with the attendance merge.

 

Unmerging Courses

To unmerge previously merged courses, you'll need to go to the merged course and click on the "Import & Merge" option. Once there, you will see an area labelled "Previously Merged Courses" where both of the course titles will appear grayed out as shown in the screenshot below.

A screen capture showing there the button for "Unmerge" is located within the "import & Merge" options within "Course Settings".

Underneath them you will see a button for "Unmerge." Click on this button.

A screen depicting the pop-up window asking if the user is sure they want to unmerge.

A pop-up window will appear asking "Are you sure that you want to unmerge?" Click okay to proceed with the unmerging and you will be brought back to the "Notifications" page for the merged course. However, when you return to your dashboard (accessible by clicking on the "Home" link at the top of the page), you will now see that the two original courses that were merged have now re-appeared for you under "My Courses."

A screen capture depicting the resulting three courses after an unmerge takes place.

This will allow faculty to retain the any data that was added to the course(s) when merged and allow for any additional merging that needs to take place thereafter.

 

These two additions to the course tools lineup will be pushed to all systems in two weeks on Friday, May 13, 2016. It's our hope that these new tools will make it easier for instructors to be able to manage data between courses more easily and without the fear of mistakenly losing data after a merge has taken place. Please feel free to contact us at support@digication.com if you have any questions, comments or concerns about any of the above.

Kind regards,
Your friends at Digication

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.