Profile

Once a user is logged into Digication, they have access to their profile, where they can change their passwords and edit things, such as their preferred notifications email.

Accessing your profile in the standard dashboard

To access your user profile after logging into Digication from the standard dashboard, simply click on your first name in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.

Accessing your profile within the new dashboard

If your school has enabled Digication's new dashboard, you will still click on your name in the upper right-hand corner of the screen, the only difference is that it will display as your full name instead of just your first.

My Account

This area gives users a run-down of some simple information as it appears within the system such as username, school login page, and first and last names.

Password:

The "Password" area under "My Account" is where you can change your Digication password by entering your new password in both available fields before clicking on the "Save" button at the bottom of the page to save the change.

Notification Email:

This is where we will send all your Digication related emails. To change this, simply enter another preferred email and click on the "Save" button at the bottom of the page.

Digication Support Email:

This can be the same as your notification email. It is the address you will use when interacting with support tickets and our community support forums. This will be blank until you enter an email in this field and click on the "Save" button at the bottom of the page. Once an email is entered, a verification email will be sent to that address. You will have to click on the link within that verification email to successfully log into Digication's Help Desk and access your ticket updates (if any tickets have been created) and community forums.

SMS Notification Address:

If a user would rather receive notifications via SMS, they can specify this here. Currently Digication only supports US phone numbers. To use this feature, please enter your 10 digit phone number. This is for cellphones/pagers to receive notification about events/class changes from faculty and students within courses.

Time Zone:

This is where a user is able to change their Time Zone settings by selecting a choice from the dropdown before clicking on the "Save" button.

Hide me from searches in Digication

To comply with FERPA regulations, users have the ability to opt out of searches within the Digication platform. Please be aware that this will make it impossible for students and faculty to search for a user by name.

If a user selects this option in their profile, their work can still be shared with another person or a course by providing either with direct access in the custom permissions of any ePortfolio, or by sharing an ePortfolio URL with them.

Important: Checking this box will not prevent any Public ePortfolios from being indexed by search engines.

My School Profile

This area shows users the system groups that they are in, as well as their major (if this information has been provided to Digication), expected graduation year, and school email (which shows in their user profile).

Website:

Have a personal site that you would like to include in your profile to make it available to others? The "Website:" field in your profile under "My School Profile" will allow you to add any website to your profile by simply pasting a URL into the dialogue before clicking the "Save" button at the bottom of the page.

Image:

The "Image:" area of your profile is where users can add a profile picture to be displayed in directory searches and in the "People" tab within courses. To add a custom profile image, simply click on the "Choose File" button and select a profile image that's saved locally (on your computer). Images should be square so that they will resize properly to 100 x 100 pixels and display well.

Comments Settings

This area of a users profile allows them to specify the types of notifications they get from comments that have been posted on their ePortfolios. Changes made in this area can be pushed to override the settings already specified within the ePortfolios a user has created.

Email notification

To receive email notifications for comments made on ePortfolios, make sure "Yes" is selected. To turn off all comment notification, select "No," before clicking the "Save," button at the bottom of the page.

Allow Comments From:

This area is where users can specify who is allowed to comment on the ePortfolios that they've created by selecting from the following options:

  • No one
  • Registered users
  • Anyone

Show Comments:

This area is where a user can specify what happens when a comment is submitted to an ePortfolio (if comments have been allowed), by choosing from the following options:

  • Show comments immediately
  • Do not show comments until they have been approved
  • Do not show comments to viewers

Apply to existing e-Portfolios

Selecting "Apply to existing e-Portfolios" and clicking the "Save" button will override the existing comment and email notifications for all of the user's ePortfolios.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.