Upgrade Your Classic ePortfolio to New Digication

Easily upgrade your Classic Digication ePortfolio to New Digication.  With just a few clicks, a New Digication ePortfolio will be created with the same content and organization as your Classic ePortfolio.  You have the option to retain access to your Classic ePortfolio after upgrading.

comparison.png

To begin, go to the “Portfolio Tools” drop down menu, and select “Try Upgrade” (1)

1-newupgrade.png

Preparing to Upgrade

If your Classic ePortfolio contains any unpublished changes, you will be given the option to either upgrade the ePortfolio with your unpublished changes (1), or to upgrade your most recently published version (2). Unsupported module and content types will be flagged with a notification in the right-hand column (3).  These elements of the ePortfolio will be omitted from the Upgrade process.

 22-newupgrade.png

Unsupported Features

The following elements of your Classic ePortfolio will not be moved to your New Digication Portfolio:

  • Comments
  • Contact Forms
  • Conversations
  • Gallery captions
  • Footer
  • Custom CSS
  • Collapsible Pages in Navigation
    • Sub-pages, which occupied the side navigation menu in Classic ePortfolios, will now be accessible via drop down menu in the New Digication navigation bar.
  • Embedded media from BrightCove, GoogleVideo, Photobucket, Viddler. (All other embeds are supported)

Please note: In New Digication, photographs, files, and documents are added separately from Rich-Text modules giving end users more flexibility in designing customized layouts.  As a result, Rich-Text modules containing both text and photographs will be broken up into separate modules during the Upgrade process. They can then be easily resized and arranged using New Digication’s grid layout.

Classic Digication Rich-Text Module:

1-rtcomparison.png

After Upgrade:

2-rtcomparison.png

 

ePortfolio Conversion Status

The ePortfolio Upgrade Status screen will show your ePortfolio as “Upgrading”  When finished, it will read “Upgrade: Pending User Set Up - Upgrade Complete”. At this point, an email will be sent to the Admin of the ePortfolio, notifying them that the New Digication ePortfolio is available for viewing, and set up can be completed.   Click the thumbnail to move to the next step (1).

newstatus.png 

New Digication Set Up

When you first access your New Digication ePortfolio, feel free to go through the various pages to make sure the content transferred properly.  Then, you will want to finish setting up your new ePortfolio by clicking the prompt reading “Complete upgrade!”

5-migration.png

You will now arrive on the ePortfolio Settings screen for your New Digication ePortfolio.  You have the option of creating a new URL for the new ePortfolio(1), but it is recommended that you keep the URL from your Classic ePortfolio.  All users with Admin status in the Classic ePortfolio will be added as Admin to the New Digication ePortfolio.   If you wish to add additional Admins or Viewers, you can do so now (2).  If not, click “Continue.”

FinishingUpgrade1.png

In the final step of the set-up process, you are given the option to delete your Classic ePortfolio (3), though this is not the recommended/default option.  If you choose to keep the original portfolio, it is given an updated URL, which you are free to edit if you prefer (4). The option is provided (by default) to make the Classic eportfolio private and remove all sharing permissions (5).  If you are not deleting the original ePortfolio, this step is recommended to prevent confusion.

7-migration.png

Once you are sure that the settings of both your New Digication and Classic portfolios are to your liking, click “Done” to finalize the upgrade.  You will arrive back at your New Digication ePortfolio, where you can explore the new features, update the style, and continue to build on the content from your original ePortfolio.

Upgrading a Classic ePortfolio Template to New Digication

If you initiate an Upgrade of a Classic ePortfolio that is currently being used as a template, you will receive a notification on the pre-Upgrade screen informing you that additional set up steps will need to be taken in order to make a template of the new ePortfolio.

template.png

When you complete the set up of your new ePortfolio, you can save it as a template by accessing the Portfolio Actions Menu (1), and selecting “Add as Template” (2).

2template.png

After upgrading, you may want to update the style of your new ePortfolio or Template. Please see the following Help Desk article for an overview of the style options available in New Digication:

Custom Style Properties

To quickly and easily style your new ePortfolio, we recommend using the Apply Styles tool, which allows you to instantly apply your chosen style settings to all other slides and modules in the ePortfolio.

We are happy to provide consultations for administrators and faculty who would like assistance in creating a professional layout and design for ePortfolios and templates. If you are interested in scheduling a design consultation, please send a request to support@digication.com 

Here are a few additional Digication Help Desk articles you may find helpful:

Adding and Editing Text

Uploading Files to Your ePortfolio

Adding and Editing Pages

Embedding Media in Your ePortfolio

Creating and Sharing a New Digication Template

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

2 comments
  • The “Try Upgrade” does not appear yet. Has it been implemented for all schools? Thanks!

  • Thank you for your question, Richard!  On July 13th this option will be made available to all schools; however, if your school would like to enable it now for specific people or for all end users, please send a request to our support team at support@digication.com.

    Have a nice day!

Please sign in to leave a comment.