Email notifications for the Conversations tool are now available to prevent new Conversations and comments from going unnoticed. Email notifications will only be sent to users associated with an ePortfolio based on the specific Conversations permissions (Admins, Publishers, or Editors) selected when each comment is added.
For schools utilizing Digication prior to November 16, 2018, this feature will need to be enabled through the system settings. For schools adopting Digication after November 16, these notifications will be enabled by default, but can be switched off for the school by an admin or individually by users who don’t wish to receive these emails.
Enabling Conversations Notifications for a School
From the New Administration Dashboard, select Settings (1).
In the Settings area, click the Edit button (2).
Clicking the Edit button will reveal a tab labeled New Digication (3). Click this tab, and you will see a checkbox for Conversations Email Notifications (4). Check this box to enable email notifications for Conversations, and then select Save (5).
Enabling/Disabling Conversations Notifications for Individual Users
When a school has Conversations Notifications enabled, it will be enabled by default for all users. When a new comment is added or edited, users with the permission level chosen by the comment creator will receive an email notification. If a user doesn’t want to receive these email notifications, they can easily be disabled through the User Profile.
To access the user profile, click your name on the top bar of your dashboard (1)
Scroll to the very bottom of your Profile, and you will see a checkbox for Conversations Email Notifications. Uncheck the box in order to disable email notifications for Conversations (2), and then slick Save (3)
Who Receives the Email Notifications?
The Permission Level chosen by the comment creator will determine who receives the Email Notifications, such as Admins, Publishers and Editors.
When the comment is submitted, all users associated with the ePortfolio who have the chosen permission level will receive the notification, which has the following format: